James J. Coleman Community Professional of the Year Award presented by East Kentucky Power


Economic development is a tough and exciting business. It offers practitioners arduous challenges and opportunities met by tremendous rewards. Clients and peers applaud the successes, but in the competitive market of the 21st Century there is a need to make every success stand out. It is for that reason that KAED has joined with East Kentucky Power to introduce the East Kentucky Power Community Professional of the Year award. This award recognizes practitioners who have made significant and/or innovative contributions to the field and their service area during the past year. Award recipients will be recognized and honored at the KAED Annual Conference.


1) Must be a member of KAED in good standing.
2) A full-time, community based practitioner.
3) All nominations must include a completed nomination form.
4) Scoring:
a) Background & experience (20 points)
b) Innovation (30 points)
c) Leadership (20 points)
d) Economic Impact Relative to Service Area (30 points).


All applications must be received no later than October 1, 2013

East KY Power Economic Development Professional Award Application

Past Recipients

Danny Koon (2000)

Margaret P. Grissom (2001)

Darrell Gilliam (2002)

Tom Lund (2003)

Phil Kerrick (2004)

Kim Huston (2005)

Robert A. Fouts (2006)

Greg Jones (2007)

Roxann Fry (2008)

Jody Lassiter (2009)

Kevin Sheilley (2010)

Eileen Pickett (2011)

Bruce Carpenter (2012)