Community Development Committee

The KAED Community development committee promotes participative democracy, sustainable development, rights, economic opportunity, equality and social justice through the organization, education, and empowerment of people within their communities, whether these be of locality, identity or interest, in urban and rural settings.

The KAED Community development committee seeks to empower individuals and groups of people with the skills they need to effect change within their communities. These skills are often created through the formation of social groups working for a common agenda. Economic developers must understand both how to work with individuals and how to affect communities’ positions.

Chair – Brad Thomas, Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperative

Co-Chair – Sierra Enlow, Greater Louisville Inc.

Education & Professional Development Committee

The mission of the Education & Professional Development Committee is to continually enhance the knowledge and skills of both the economic development practitioners and the stakeholders supporting economic development in the Commonwealth of Kentucky in order to ensure the most competitive economic development team possible.  Furthermore, the EPDC will seek to generate net revenue through offerings that enhance the annual business plan of KAED.

Chair – Chuck Sexton, Chair Elect, One East Kentucky

Co-Chair – Debbie Gray, LG&E & KU

Ethics & Bylaws Committee

Develop amendments as needed in order for our Bylaws to protect the association, its officers and Members. Bylaws and Handbook should reflect current operating procedures. Work with President/CEO to update Handbook annually.  If Bylaws amendments are necessary, develop amendments and propose them to the Board. Tactfully point out occasions when Members or the Board take actions that are not in compliance with the Bylaws. Point out actions the Board needs to take to be in compliance with the Bylaws. This committee is in charge of monitoring and enforcing the Bylaws.

Chair – Madison Silvert, Greater Owensboro Economic Development Corporation

Committee – Kim Huston, Nelson County Economic Development Authority

Jody Lassiter, Develop Danville, Inc.

Harry Schmidt, TVA

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is comprised of the Officers of the KAED Board of Directors:  Chair, Chair-Elect, Secretary/Treasurer and the Immediate Past Chair.  This group of officers is elected by the membership to act on behalf of and within the powers granted to them under the KAED By-Laws.  The President and CEO of the organization will attend meetings of the Executive Committee.

Madison Silvert, Chair, Greater Owensboro Economic Development Corporation

Chuck Sexton, Chair, Elect, One East Kentucky

Harry Schmidt, Secretary-Treasurer, TVA

Brad Sowden, Immediate Past Chair, LG&E & KU

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is charged with the creation, implementation and supervision of KAED’s overall financial strength to ensure long term success.  The Finance Committee will serve the KAED Board in an advisory capacity making recommendations addressing the income, expenditures and investments of the organizations assets.  Sub-Committees under the finance category will include, but not be limited to:  KAED, the KAED Foundation, KY United, sponsorship attainment, partnership opportunities and membership campaigns.

The Executive Committee serves as the Finance Committee

KentuckyUnited Committee

The mission of the KentuckyUnited Committee is to establish a collaborative partnership amongst economic development professionals to market and promote the Commonwealth of Kentucky as a whole.  The Steering Committee is made up of Chair, Co-Chair and one person from each partnership level.

Chair – Jody Lassiter, Develop Danville, Inc.

Co-Chair – Wade Williams, Northern Kentucky Tri-ED


Marketing & Membership Committee

The Marketing & Membership Committee cultivates the marketing strategy used to promote the organization’s mission and goals.  Our basic marketing approach will focus on communications, public relations and membership retention.  This committee will revisit, revise and implement new ideas to increase our brand using web based, print based and social media efforts, all the while developing strategies that encourage member involvement and investment in the organization’s mission. The committee will also develop new and innovative ways to attract new sponsors as well as retain current sponsors.

Chair – Lynn Allen, Bluegrass International Fund

Chair – Donna Crooks, Kyndle

Co-Chair – Tonita Goodwin, Hazard-Perry County Economic Development Alliance

Co-Chair – Tim Gibbs, Ashland Alliance

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee selects nominees for the Board of Directors and shall consist of five (5) members.  Two of those members shall be non-Board of Directors members, appointed by the Chair. The remaining three (3) committee members shall consist of the Immediate Past Chair, a Past Chair, and the Chair-Elect.  The chair of the Nominating Committee shall be the Immediate Past Chair.

Chair – Brad Sowden, Immediate Past Chair, LG&E & KU

Daryl Smith, Past Chair, LG&E & KU

Chuck Sexton, Chair Elect, One East Kentucky

Wendy Puckett, Fulton County-Hickman County Economic Development

David Bizianes, Oldham Chamber & Economic Development

Public Policy Committee

The purpose of the Public Policy Committee is to assist the Board and the members of the organization in identifying, evaluating and reviewing social, political and related issues that could affect the organization’s activities and ultimately our members’ success.  KAED is quite active in Kentucky’s General Assembly and we continue to be sought out for support on items relating to business and economic development.  This committee should assist the Board and its membership by reviewing management’s proposed actions to anticipate and adjust to such trends so as to  more effectively achieve KAED’s long-term goals.

Chair – Brad Sowden, LG&E & KU

Co-Chair – Tyler Glick, Glick Strategies

Interested in serving on a KAED Committee?  Please email Cathy Rogers at and indicate which committee you’d like to participate in.  We appreciate your willingness to assist in our efforts!